

## Schamiloglu Bio

Edl Schamiloglu was born in The Bronx, NY. He received the B.S. degree in Applied Physics from Columbia University, NY, in 1979; he received the M.S. degree in Plasma Physics from Columbia University in 1981. He received the Ph.D. degree in Engineering (minor in Mathematics) from Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, in 1988 (dissertation advisor David A. Hammer, J.C. Ward Jr. Professor of Nuclear Energy Engineering). He joined the University of New Mexico (UNM) as Assistant Professor in 1988 and he is currently Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Associate Dean for Research in the School of Engineering. He also holds an appointment in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, National University of Singapore. He lectured at the U.S. Particle Accelerator School (Harvard University in 1990 and at MIT in 1997). He coedited Advances in High Power Microwave Sources and Technologies (IEEE Press/Wiley, New York, NY, 2001) (with R.J. Barker), he has coauthored High Power Microwaves, 3<sup>rd</sup> Ed. (CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL, 2016) (with J. Benford and J. Swegle), and he is coediting Advances in High Power Microwave Sources and Technologies using Metamaterials (with J.W. Luginsland, J.A. Marshall, and A. Nachman) (IEEE Press/Wiley, New York, NY, 2018). He has coauthored over 140 refereed journal papers, 230 reviewed conference papers, and 6 patents. His publications have been cited over 5700 times. His h-index is 34 and his i10-index is 104. He has been PI on over \$43 M of contracts and grants at UNM.

Professor Schamiloglu is a Fellow of the IEEE, an EMP Fellow (sponsored by the Summa Foundation), and a Member of the Editorial Board of the Journal Matter and Radiation at Extreme. He was awarded the 2013 IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society's Richard F. Shea Distinguished Member Award "For outstanding contributions to the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society through its Pulsed Power Science and Technology and Plasma Science and Applications Technical Committees," the 2014 IEC '1906 Award' "For his valuable technical contributions to SC77C projects and specifically for his technical contributions with respect to HPEM source technologies to support the standardization of test techniques for HPEM/IEMI," the 2015 IEEE NPSS PPST Peter Haas Award "For research in the area of pulsed power, beams, and microwaves, and for his dedicated service to the current and future pulsed power community through his leadership and educational endeavors," and the 2017 UNM Senior Faculty Research Excellence Award. He serves on the External Review Board for Sandia National Laboratories' Radiation Effects/High Energy Density Science Foundation, on the Air Force Research Laboratory's High Energy Density Plasmas Program's External Review Panel, and on the Board of Visitors for the Army's extramural basic research program in electronics (ARO).

**Updated May 17, 2018**