type="text/css" />
The Erwin Marx Award

The Erwin Marx Award recognizes outstanding contributions to pulsed power technology by an individual over an extended period of time. The first Erwin Marx Award was presented at the 3rd IEEE Pulsed Power Conference (June 1981). The Erwin Marx Award was dedicated to the memory of Professor Marx and his concept of the Cascade Impulse Voltage Generator that bears his name. Professor Marx passed away on January 11, 1980, just prior to his 87th birthday. The High Voltage Institute of the Technical University of Braunschweig, where Professor Marx conducted his research, has graciously allowed the Pulsed Power Conferences to present the Erwin Marx Award in his name. A brief review of Professor Marx's career is presented in the Proceedings of the 4th IEEE Pulsed Power Conference, Albuquerque, NM, June 6 – 8, 1983, p. 51.

Marx Award Nomination Form (Click here to bring up pdf file)

Erwin Marx Award (established in 1997)

Description: To recognize outstanding technical achievements in pulsed power engineering, science and technology by an individual over an extended period of time.Marx Generator

Prize: $2,000 and Plaque

Funding: Funded by the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society's International Pulsed Power Conference budget.

Eligibility: Individuals who have made outstanding technical contributions to pulsed power technology for at least ten years.

Basis for Judging: 1. Importance of technical contributions to pulsed power research or development over at least a ten year period. (50 points); 2. Importance of technical contributions made by teams led by the candidate. (20 points); 3. Quality and significance of publications and patents (20 points); 4. Years of technical distinction (10 points). The award is in consideration for outstanding technical accomplishments. The nominee is not required to be a member of the NPSS or IEEE but, where candidates have otherwise equal qualifications, preference shall be given to the candidate who is a member of the IEEE.

Presentation: Biennially, with presentation in odd numbered years at the IEEE International Pulsed PowerConference Awards Banquet.

Return to PPST Home Page


This website is maintained by the University of New Mexico, Electrical & Computer Engineering Department

Suggestions, ideas, links should be sent to edl@ece.unm.edu
Last Updated: 24 September 2009